4WebHelp
 FAQ  •  Search  •  User Groups  •  Forum Admins  •  Smilies List  •  Statistics  •  Rules   •  Login   •  Register
Toggle Navigation Menu

.htaccess redirect problem
View Previous Topic Print this topic View Next Topic
Hypergluco
Junior WebHelper
Junior WebHelper

PostPosted: Thu May 04, 2006 4:27 pm (17 years, 11 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

I'm a designer more than a developer so I'd really appreciate some help with this.

It seems a very straightforward problem. I use .htaccess to protect a section of a client's site, successfully, in conjunction with an .htpasswd file which sits outsite the public root. When login fails, I get the usual Apache 401 screen which looks like ****, so I've included an ErrorDocument redirect to my own error page (401.html), and the htaccess looks like this:

AuthUserFile /home/user/.htpasswd
AuthGroupFile /dev/null
AuthName "Students"
AuthType Basic
ErrorDocument 401 http://www.myclient.co.uk/401.html

<Limit GET POST PUT>
require valid-user
</Limit>

It doesn't work. It just goes to the Apache 401 page without redirecting.

Surely login failure redirection to a more attractive page than Apache's effort is common? Help me here - this makes sense to me so I don't understand why it won't work.

Thanks

James
OfflineView User's ProfileFind all posts by HyperglucoSend Personal MessageVisit Poster's WebsiteMSN Messenger
adam
Forum Moderator & Developer

PostPosted: Fri May 05, 2006 8:01 am (17 years, 11 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

Have you tried "ErrorDocument /401.html" rather than using a full URL?

Junior WebHelper
Junior WebHelper

PostPosted: Fri May 05, 2006 8:57 am (17 years, 11 months ago) Reply with QuoteBack to Top

Hi Adam,

thanks for your reply.